Apathetic, or just pathetic?
This is so true. I feel like I have been crying (not literally) for the past 3 years and most certainly no one really truly gives a shit. I have never felt so lonely in my whole life of just under 39 years. I don't have any friends that live nearby, and the only friends I felt like I did have I ruined by just being a slightly less happy version of me, and for this whole year I have been trying to figure out the point of a life where the joy has been sucked away or is simply non existent.
I have read so many self help books, books about NLP etc and know that the brain is a hugely powerful thing, and learn't various tools and techniques to aleiviate stress, and "snap out of it", and just turn the happiness on, and sometimes this works, but it is always so temporary, and faked.
I know that my life should be really amazing with a fantastic wife and a nearly five year old boy, but often when he wants to start playing a game with me, or talks to me I just find him really annoying and end up snapping at him, and then feeling guilty. When I do find the energy to play with him or read him a story, I feel like I am just going through the motions, and I am unable to extract any joy or fun from the situation. This is the same when I go to a party or family gathering, I start off by being extremely positive and friendly, and often end up sitting somewhere quietly and play Iphone games so that I don't have to get involved in conversations.
I used to love my work, but now I feel like much of the roles I have fallen into such as accounting and marketing and jobs I am expected to just be able to do by magic without learning like website development and general IT and troubleshooting, which really takes me away from areas of work that I love like business strategies and planning for growth etc.
This last couple of months I did feel that after much life evaluation I had started to appreciate some of the small things again, like eating good food, and appreciating a walk and playing with my son, but again this is short lived and I soon fall back into my old grumpy ways again. Is this normal for someone who is just about to enter 40, perhaps? Maybe it is stress related by being self emplyed with much responsibity and cashflow tight?
I have just been thinking constantly what is the point in doing anything, when the only thing for certain is death. What's the point in building anything when it will just get demolished or replaced. Whats the point in cleaning when it will just get dirty again? I just failed to see the point in any task, and anything I started to do just felt like I was wasting my time, and none of us really know how much time we have left, and here I am wasting it by feeling this way!
Anyway, I never used to feel this way, and I can't stop thinking back to various times in my life where I have been happy and positive, and enthusiastic about everything even faced with adversities such as bankruptcy, when I'm sure I was at my happiest!
After much much thought, I think that these feelings have been caused by a series of different events, none of which are too stressful when isolated, but when stacked one after the other, have led to a downward spiral of bad feelings. It's like being kicked when you're down, then run over...by a truck, and then forced to eat a jar of cockles, when they make you gag, and then stabbed, raped and murdered by a gang of hardy criminals, and then bought back to life by an angel, just so that you can be shot in every area of your body except your head and then beheaded, and then having just your head brought back to life and set into a glass cube, although everyone thinks you are dead, so that you can watch as your family gets on with their new life with a new happy husband and a happy Daddy.
Apart from all that though, I'm fine!